In the bag? Bagwell not elected into MLB Hall of Fame

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

COOPERSTOWN - The results for the 2016 Hall of Fame voting were revealed today. Astros first baseman Jeff Bagwell was on the ballot
for the sixth time, while closer Billy Wagner made his first appearance on the ballot.

Bagwell fell short of 75% needed for election. He got 71.6% of the vote and missed out by just 15 votes. Last year (he had 55.7% of the votes) when Craig Briggio got inducted. Biggio made history as he become the first player elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame as an Astro.

Bagwell, 47, played 15 seasons for the Astros winning the N.L. Rookie of the Year Award in 1991 and winning the N.L. MVP award in 1994. Bagwell was a four-time All-star who hit 449 career homeruns and drove in 1,529 runs. His career batting average was .294 as he amassed 1,529 hits.

Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Piazza were elected into the Hall of Fame. Griffey got 99 percent of the vote, setting a new record for the highest percentage (surpasses Tom Seaver on that count).