CDC steps up Ebola guidelines for health care workers

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

ATLANTA, Georgia -- Ever since Ebola made it's way to Dallas, there's been a lot of back and forth about a possible travel ban.

So here's what the Department of Homeland Security has decided -- travelers coming to America from Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea must land at one of five U.S. airports.

JFK in New York, Washington's Dulles, Chicago's O'Hare, Atlanta's Hartsfield-Jackson, and Newark Liberty in New Jersey.

The reason?

All five airports already have advanced Ebola screening procedures in place, unlike some other airports. like Houston's Hobby and Intercontinental airports.

The CDC is also changing the way health care workers deal with the disease. New regulations now include more training and supervision before treating infected patients.

Plus, health workers will now wear full body suits with absolutely no skin exposure.

The two nurses who contracted Ebola in Dallas had their necks exposed while treating the now-deceased Thomas Eric Duncan.

Texas will soon be in the business of doing more, according to Governor Rick Perry.

A state-of-the-art Ebola treatment and infectious disease bio-containment facility will open Wednesday in North Texas.

There's one at UTMB in Galveston, too.

As for the two infected nurses, Nina Pham - now at an isolation unit in Bethesda, Maryland and Amber Vinson in Atlanta -- they're both recovering.

With the added layer of protection at the five major airports, let's hope the U.S. has a handle on containing this deadly disease.



Don't Miss