HOUSTON (CW39) It’s one of the most coveted scholarships out there. The winner receives four years of college tuition, paid for in full. That’s usually just a dream. But for one Houston High School student, that dream is now a reality.

Wheatley High School senior Jakory Johnson is now a 2022 Terry Freshman Scholarship winner and will be attending the University of Texas at San Antonio in the Fall of 2022.

“We are thrilled that Jakory was awarded a full scholarship to UTSA,” said Houston Independent School District Superintendent Millard House II. “It’s been 15 years since a Wheatley student was named a Terry Foundation Scholar, and this is another great sign of the academic success we are seeing at this historic campus.”

Terry Foundation

Terry Scholars are selected from a highly competitive applicant pool of incoming freshmen who demonstrate exceptional leadership, character, and academic ability. The Terry Foundation provides four-year scholarships for Texas residents who attend select Texas universities.

Jakory is part of the Mile Ahead Scholars Program, which helps African-American and Hispanic students succeed. MAS is an honors program that creates a community of achievement and provides students academic acceleration, college and career counseling, and enrichment opportunities that help the students be strong college applicants.

Jakory is a third-generation Wheatley Wildcat and one of fifteen Seniors that make up the first graduating class from the Miles Ahead Scholars program, named after Texas State Senator Borris L. Miles.

“This is a perfect example of why programs like MAS can make a difference in the lives of Black and Latino young men, specifically those raised in underrepresented communities of Houston,” Senator Miles said. “The hope is that in return, he and other young men like him give back to the program and their community,” When not in school or playing football, Jakory works at a fast-food restaurant, and participates in community programs. His character and leadership led him to become a Miles Ahead Scholar.